Coffee — My Starbucks Idea

I grew up in the greater Boston area. Around those parts, we live on Dunkin’ Donuts. Sure, we’ll go to Starbucks when we want something a little fancy, but for regular ol’ joe on the go, nothing beats Dunkin’ Donuts home brew.

Since moving to New York, I’ve become a little bit more of a coffee snob. I own an Italian espresso maker, and my favorite beans are from Haiti. I have my favorite local cafés around the city that serve amazing coffee. But I still have a special place in my heart for Dunkin’.

That’s why I was so thrilled to hear that Starbuck’s new roast announced today, Pike Place, tastes a lot like Dunkin’. Starbuck’s regular coffee has historically been consistently awful, tasting as if the beans have been cremated and the remaining ashes brewed.

What I’ll never be thrilled about are the lines at Starbucks. Which is why I propose that Starbucks form an “express” line for those ordering plain coffee or hot water with a tea bag. So instead of waiting behind people ordering their half-caf non-fat extra-foam grande soy latte extra hot with room and hibiscus syrup and a vegan biscotti, you can stand right up and get… coffee. And the world keeps turning.

I’m sure my idea isn’t unique. I’d just love to see it implemented. Isn’t it great when companies listen?

Update: It’s definitely an improvement, but I still prefer DD. Also, I think I’m going to take a shot at redesigning their lid, as I only narrowly avoided soaking my shirt while walking with a cup of it down the sidewalk.

Leave a Reply

